Emma Parker Violin

Emma Parker

Nathaniel Boyd Cello

Nathaniel Boyd

A shared belief in the visceral, communicative power of the string quartet has brought together four outstanding performers of their generation to form the Albion Quartet. Following years of close collaboration, these players are delighted to further their reputation for creative and imaginative performances in this exciting new venture. Forthcoming engagements include recitals at Wigmore Hall, The Concertgebouw and the Aldeburgh Festival, as well as a residency at London’s Kings Place in the 2017/18 season. They are currently Quartet-in-Residence at Gresham’s School, opening Gresham's new Britten Concert Hall in 2017. In 2017 they also embark on their first season as co-artistic directors of the Sainte-Mère Festival, France, and return to the Honeymead Festival as the resident ensemble.

A thirst to explore the string quartet repertoire through innovative programming is quickly becoming the quartet's benchmark. The ensemble's creative curiosity has led them to curate concerts focused around specific themes and presenting lesser-known works alongside core quartet repertoire - a characteristic manifested in their Kings Place programmes. Through the themes of Mentors, War, Folk and Hymn, the quartet will explore the music of a great variety of composers ranging from Haydn, Schubert, Ravel, Dvořák, as well as Britten and Adès. Every programme will go on a musical voyage linking each one of these themes to British and European music throughout different periods in time.

The Albion Quartet feels a particular affinity for the chamber music of Antonin Dvořák. Whilst the 'American' quartet is a much-loved part of the quartet canon, the majority of Dvořák's quartets (he wrote fourteen in total) are rarely performed. Following on from their residency at Snape Maltings in 2018, their debut recordings of Dvořák’s quartets will be released in 2018, the first in a series of discs for Signum Records.
They play a stunning quartet of instruments, including a Stradivarius and Guarnerius.

© 2016 Albion Quartet.